Burkina Faso gained independence from the French in 1960 and renamed the country to Burkina Faso in 1984. The name translates to “Land of Incorruptible People”. Burkina Faso is located in West Africa and is comprised of a savanna ecosystem in the northern part of the country and more scattered forests and rivers in the south. The capital city is Ouagadougou, the largest city in the country with over 2 million residents. Political unrest in 2014 led to the president being overthrown. Following the success of the revolution, a democratically elected government took power in 2015.

More about Burkina Faso: